
"NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Titans coach Brian Callahan admitted he incorrectly decided not to challenge an incomplete ruling by the officials that took away a 23-yard reception by rookie receiver Elic Ayomanor in a 20-12 loss to the Denver Broncos on Sunday. "My interpretation of the rule was wrong," Callahan said. "I'll own it. I didn't do a good enough job in that moment, and I should have challenged it, and it probably would've resulted in a potential explosive play.""
"According to the rule book, a player must make contact with the ground inbounds with both feet or any body part other than their hands. The call should have been challenged. There were others in place such as Rob Riederer, the director of game management and strategic initiatives, that could have told him to challenge the play. Callahan didn't say whether or not he got a directive from the game management department to challenge the play. He instead took full responsibility for the blunder."
Brian Callahan admitted he incorrectly declined to challenge an incomplete pass ruling that negated a 23-yard reception by rookie Elic Ayomanor in a 20-12 loss to the Denver Broncos. Ayomanor got his elbow in bounds while coming down, but Callahan said he did not get a clear view of whether Ayomanor got a foot down. The official rule requires contact with the ground inbounds with both feet or another body part other than the hands. The call should have been challenged. Others in game management, including Rob Riederer, could have advised a challenge, but Callahan accepted full responsibility and said he misspoke.
Read at ESPN.com
Unable to calculate read time
Collection
[
|
...
]